Archive for the ‘databases’ Tag

New Sci Fi Research Guide   Leave a comment

For all you science fiction lovers out there, the library has just released a new research guide for your browsing pleasure. While the Sci Fi Research Guide was originally written for students taking Pearl Ratunil’s English 102 and Literature 115 courses, anyone– even the general public– can take a look at any of the research guides and the various resources that are available to them at Harper. There’s info on finding books, media, author biographies, websites, and even MLA citation help if you so need it.

Sci Fi Research Guide

If you find something that peaks your interest and need help finding it, stop by the Reference Desk– we’re here to help.

Streaming videos   Leave a comment

Films on Demand

Did you know that the library offers access to over 400 streaming videos? They are available through the Films on Demand logo on the library website. You can search for a specific title once you enter the database or you can browse by subject. All videos are available via any internet connection but you must be a Harper student or employee to view the videos. You will be required to signon (with your student portal signon login and password) through an off campus sign in screen.

Two other places to go for online (streaming videos ) documentaries are Snagfilms and PBS/Frontline

Streaming Videos available at the library!   Leave a comment

Films on Demand

 

Did you know that the Harper College Library has over 400 streaming videos available for you? The videos may be accessed by students and faculty members any place you have an Internet connection. If you are off-campus you will be prompted for a sign-on.  Simply use the same sign-on that you use for the student portal.  We recently made it easier to find your videos by adding access to them through the FilmsOnDemand database. Simply click on the FOD graphic (seen above) on the library home page and you will be taken into the database.  Video titles may be searched or you can browse through the titles by subject. We add new titles to this database each week so check back often to see what’s new.

Credo reference   Leave a comment

Credo reference

Harper College Library is pleased to provide it’s users with another premier online reference database– Credo reference. “Credo Reference enables users to find authoritative answers fast. It features content from hundreds of reference books in a broad range of subjects. Credo Reference has been named an outstanding electronic reference work in 2008.”

Posted October 6, 2008 by wpankey in Library resources, news, What's New?

Tagged with , , ,

ebrary: 18,000 books online!   Leave a comment

ebrary

Harper College Library is pleased to provide you with access to ebrary. ebrary provides thousands of eBooks from the world’s leading publishers as well as sophisticated technology to assist with the research process.

One of our most exciting features is ebrary InfoTools™ software, which allows you to seamlessly link to additional information in your library and on the web simply by highlighting any word or phrase of interest.
We also offer numerous ways to search and navigate throughout a document or the entire ebrary collection. And, our Personal Bookshelf feature automatically saves your highlights and notes as you conduct research.
This user guide aims to provide an overview of ebrary’s key capabilities.

Posted September 18, 2008 by wpankey in Library resources, What's New?

Tagged with , , , ,

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.